New Books
Used & Rare
Featured Titles
What's New
Links About Us Map View Cart

Year Title Author
2010 Tinkers Paul Harding
2009 Olive Kitteridge Elizabeth Strout
2008 The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao Junot Diaz
2007 The Road Cormac McCarthy
2006 March Geraldine Brooks
2005 Gilead Marilynne Robinson
2004 The Known World Edward Jones
2003 Middlesex Jeffrey Eugenides
2002 Empire Falls Richard Russo
2001 The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay Michael Chabon
2000 Interpreter of Maladies Jhumpa Lahiri
1999 The Hours Michael Cunningham
1998 American Pastoral Philip Roth
1997 Martin Dressler: The Tale of an American Dreamer Steven Millhauser
1996 Independence Day Richard Ford
1995 The Stone Diaries Carol Shields
1994 The Shipping News E. Annie Proulx
1993 A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain Robert Olen Butler
1992 A Thousand Acres Jane Smiley
1991 Rabbit at Rest John Updike
1990 The Mambo Kings Play Songs of Love Oscar Hijuelos
1989 Breathing Lessons Anne Tyler
1988 Beloved Toni Morrison
1987 A Summons to Memphis Peter Taylor
1986 Lonesome Dove Larry McMurtry
1985 Foreign Affairs Alison Lurie
1984 Ironweed William Kennedy
1983 The Color Purple Alice Walker
1982 Rabbit is Rich John Updike
1981 A Confederacy of Dunces John Kennedy Toole
1980 The Executioner's Song Norman Mailer
1979 The Stories of John Cheever John Cheever
1978 Elbow Room James Alan McPherson
1977 No Award given.
1976 Humboldt's Gift Saul Bellow
1975 The Killer Angels Michael Shaara
1974 No Award given.
1973 The Optimist's Daughter Eudora Welty
1972 Angle of Repose Wallace Stegner
1971 No Award given.
1970 Collected Stories Jean Stafford
1969 House Made of Dawn N. Scott Momaday
1968 The Confessions of Nat Turner William Styron
1967 The Fixer Bernard Malamud
1966 Collected Stories Katherine Anne Porter
1965 The Keepers of the House Shirley Ann Grau
1964 No Award given.
1963 The Reivers William Faulkner
1962 The Edge of Sadness Edwin O'Connor
1961 To Kill a Mockingbird Harper Lee
1960 Advise and Consent Allen Drury
1959 The Travels of Jaimie McPheeters Robert Lewis Taylor
1958 A Death in the Family James Agee
1957 No Award given.
1956 Andersonville MacKinlay Kantor
1955 A Fable William Faulkner
1954 No Award given.
1953 The Old Man and the Sea Ernest Hemingway
1952 The Caine Mutiny Herman Wouk
1951 The Town Conrad Richter
1950 The Way West A. B. Guthrie, Jr
1949 Guard of Honor James Gould Cozzens
1948 Tales of the South Pacific James A. Michener
1947 All the King's Men Robert Penn Warren
1946 No Award given.
1945 A Bell for Adano John Hersey
1944 Journey in the Dark Martin Flavin
1943 Dragon's Teeth Upton Sinclair
1942 In This Our Life Ellen Glasgow
1941 No Award given.
1940 The Grapes of Wrath John Steinbeck
1939 The Yearling Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings
1938 The Late George Apley John Phillips Marquand
1937 Gone with the Wind Margaret Mitchell
1936 Honey in the Horn Harold L. Davis
1935 Now in November Josephine Winslow Johnson
1934 Lamb in His Bosom Caroline Pafford Miller
1933 The Store T. S. Stribling
1932 The Good Earth Pearl S. Buck
1931 Years of Grace Margaret Ayer Barnes
1930 Laughing Boy Oliver La Farge
1929 Scarlet Sister Mary Julia Peterkin
1928 The Bridge of San Luis Rey Thornton Niven Wilder
1927 Early Autumn Louis Bromfield
1926 Arrowsmith Sinclair Lewis
1925 So Big Edna Ferber
1924 The Able McLaughlins Margaret Wilson
1923 One of Ours Willa Cather
1922 Alice Adams Booth Tarkington
1921 The Age of Innocence Edith Wharton
1920 No Award given.
1919 The Magnificent Ambersons Booth Tarkington
1918 His Family Ernest Poole

Featured Books
More Book Lists
The Book Escape Home

Add a Grab Bag
View Your Shopping Cart